Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


BACKSTAGE INTERVIEW – SHEENA THOMPSON


BACKSTAGE INTERVIEW – SHEENA THOMPSON

Over the past summer, a number of new employees have joined Merrimack Repertory Theatre. To give you a better idea of who works at the theatre and what we do, we profile several employees during each season. Our first Backstage Interview of the 2010-2011 season is with Sheena Thompson, one of our Stage/Company Management Interns for this season.

Stage/Company Management Intern Sheena Thompson

Where do you grow up, and when did you decide you wanted to work in the theatre?

I grew up in River Falls, Wisconsin, and I made a definite choice to be a theatre major my senior year of high school. I received my bachelor’s from the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire where I originally focused on acting. It wasn’t until my junior year that I decided I want to be a stage manager. After graduation, I spent nine months freelancing in Minneapolis. This summer I worked as a Production Assistant for a theatre program at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois.

How are you settling into your role at Merrimack Rep?

I’m having a great time at Merrimack Rep. The accommodations provided by MRT are wonderful and more than I expected. The people are fabulous and have made me feel very welcome already.

What are your responsibilities at the theatre?

For four shows this season, I will be assisting the Company Manager (Peter Crewe), and for three shows, I will be assisting the Stage Manager (Emily McMullen).

What show are you most excited to work on this season and why?

I’m very excited to work on all the shows this season… I don’t necessarily have a favorite. This internship is so wonderful in that I get to perform various job duties and work with all the MRT staff members and visiting artists.

What are your plans for the future?

I plan to go to grad school beginning fall 2012 to get my master’s in Stage Management. After that, I hope to get a resident stage management position with a theatre and eventually start a theatre company of my own.

Visit Merrimack Repertory Theatre Online


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

