Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


STAGE MANAGEMENT INTERN KRISTIN KURZ

STAGE MANAGEMENT INTERN KRISTIN KURZ

Every year, Merrimack Repertory Theatre brings in a handful of interns from around the country to work at the theatre for a season. Today we are going to highlight Kristin Kurz, one of our new stage management interns, and learn a little about her and what she does at Merrimack Rep.

Where did you grow up, and when did you decide you wanted to work in the theatre?

I grew up in Brick, New Jersey.  I had always done theatre as a child but when I was in high school my drama teacher taught me how to stage manage.  I knew then that is exactly what I wanted to do. 

How are you settling into your new home at Merrimack Rep? 

The new intern apartments are fantastic.  I’m enjoying the new surroundings and I’m looking forward to an exciting year.

What show are you most excited to work on this season?

I’ve been in rehearsal for Flings and Eros and The Flying Karamazov Brothers are quite impressive.  I think all the shows will bring an interesting experience to my assistant stage manager career.

What are your responsibilities at the theatre? 

I am a stage management/company management intern.  I help run the shows with Emily (Merrimack Rep’s stage manager) and I help Peter (company manager) write contracts and take care of the visiting artists.

What are your plans for the future?

I plan on applying for graduate school to receive my masters in stage management.  I would love to become a professional stage manager at a regional theatre company in New England.

Visit Merrimack Repertory Theatre Online

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

