Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


SAMANTHA GIBBS INTERVIEW


SAMANTHA GIBBS INTERVIEW

Up next in our series of interviews with the people who work behind the scenes at Merrimack Rep is Samantha Gibbs, our new Wardrobe Intern for 2009-2010.  

Where do you grow up, and when did you decide you wanted to work in the theatre?

I grew up mainly in Mechanicsburg, PA. I graduated from Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania in 2008 with a degree in Elementary Education. Throughout my college years I was heavily involved with the theatre program. I discovered that I actually love working in theatre more than teaching so when I graduated I decided to pursue a career in theatre instead.

 How are you settling into your new home at Merrimack Rep? 

So far I am settling in very well. I came in right in the middle of tech for Flings and Eros, but my supervisor and co-workers made the transition as easy as possible for me. I’m enjoying my work and my housing.

What show are you most excited to work on this season?

I don’t know very much about any of the shows this season but so far I am really enjoying working on Flings and Eros because it’s a completely different process than what I have worked on before. I’m also looking forward to Black Pearl Sings because it looks like an interesting show.

What are your responsibilities at the theatre? 

I am responsible for show costumes once the show is up and running. I perform laundry and maintenance duties during the run and am also responsible for all of the backstage costume needs including pre-sets and quick changes.

What are your plans for the future?

I’m not entirely sure what my plans are for the future. Currently I am just trying to gain as much experience as possible in theatre and see where it leads me.

Visit Merrimack Repertory Theatre Online

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

