Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


It’s An Intern’s Life
July 13, 2011, 9:49 am
Filed under: Merrimack Repertory Theatre | Tags:

Not Just Slave Labor

Hello World. I’m not really sure how to start off, but maybe introducing myself is a solid way: Jordan Lindow, age 20. I am currently Merrimack Repertory Theatre’s summer marketing intern. It was suggested that I should start a blog about the intern’s life here at MRT. You know, what I learned, what I hope to achieve, all that jazz.

But more about me: I am a theatre major at Saginaw Valley State University. Where is Saginaw Valley? Why, it’s just on the outskirts of Saginaw, Michigan. I grew up in Bay City, Michigan. A whole whopping 10 minute drive to Saginaw, where I’m sorry to Saginaw, it’s not the greatest college town. The most exciting thing happening right now is that we are getting an Ihop this year.

I’m entering my senior year as a theatre major, with marketing and soon-to-be communications minors. Our theatre department is small and is acting and directing intensive. There are a few stage managers, but not many people interested in theatre management. Besides the one class they offer, I knew it wouldn’t be enough, so the urge to go to graduate school and continue learning grows stronger and stronger every year. However, I did have this goal of doing a summer internship in the marketing department of some theatre before I graduated, just so I’m sure this is what I want to do for the rest of my life. And you know, to learn. Thanks to a quickie project for one of my theatre classes, which involved printing a list of all the LORT theatres in the country, I just went through the list to see if any of them provided an internship program that suited me. I made a list of contenders and sent out interest e-mails and resumes.

MRT bit. I had a couple of phone interviews and was offered the internship in early March. And I have to say, although not experiencing summer internships anywhere else, I feel like I’m rather spoiled here at MRT. I am the Paris Hilton of summer theatre internships. When I arrived, I was welcome with open arms.

I remember on my first day, June 6th, I was given the script of the first show this upcoming season: The Persian Quarter by Kathleen Cahill. By the time 5 o’clock rolled around, I had already been on the phone with The Salt Lake Acting Company in Salt Lake City, Utah to discuss The Persian Quarter in which they just completed. I, uh, I stuttered a few times. It was a mixture of nerves, excitement, and holy crap, did I just do this on my first day? By the second week, I was having a phone conference with the playwright Kathleen Cahill about the show.

This internship isn’t just about filing, or running out to get stamps (I still have done both), but phone conferences, writing study guides for the shows, and researching new audiences to reach in the Boston area. I even have my own office, complete with desk and phone. Living the dream.

Visit Merrimack Repertory Theatre Online

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

