Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


It’s An Intern’s Life
July 14, 2011, 10:00 am
Filed under: Merrimack Repertory Theatre | Tags:

Chronicling A Month of Work Into 3 Posts, Part II

Right as I got to Merrimack Rep, the anticipation of the new executive director coming was on everyone’s mind. It was only 2 weeks after I arrived and everyone else was a little anxious. They all told me what a learning experience it would be see a regime change. I wasn’t really nervous. Mostly because I wasn’t sure how this affected me directly. Marketing director Dan Berube was my boss. Anything Dan wanted done, I got done. Filing, done. Make a list, done. Call a theatre, done. Dan was my God, anything he taught and told me to do, I listened. So the morning Steven Leon arrived, I shook his hand and exchanged pleasantries. He told me he was looking forward to working here and sitting down to talk to me. While on the outside I was smiling, my brain said “wha’?” I don’t know why this surprised me, but I was definitely caught off-guard.

A couple of weeks later, I finally had my meeting with Steven. We talked a little about me, a little about him, and then he told me about the time he opened a theatre company with a friend of his (an interesting thought to keep in the back of my mind for the future perhaps) and it ended with him lending me a book about helping yourself find your strengths. Which, everyone needs to do at some point. I’ve already found one of my weaknesses, which I’ll get to later, but I really need to read that book so I can get a hold of my strengths. All in all, good meeting.

Visit Merrimack Repertory Theatre Online

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

