Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


It’s An Intern’s Life
July 15, 2011, 10:03 am
Filed under: Merrimack Repertory Theatre | Tags:

The Beginning, The Final Installment

I know this blog kind of started a little late, but I’m going to update it every week from now on. This post concludes the beginnings of my adventures and I will move on to current events.

Currently, I am receiving credit for an arts management class this upcoming fall. So as a result, I am keeping a journal of everything I’ve done. I don’t really divulge any feelings on how well I do those projects, how exciting I found them, or what they require. It’s just a general list. So, this blog might fill in those gaps.

However, I have to say, that one of my favorite times of week is on Fridays. No, it’s not just because of the half day. Dan Berube and I sit down and just talk about the different aspects of marketing for a non-profit theatre. It all started my first week when I asked him how to write a press release. We sat down and he taught me about press releases and then his idea erupted that we should do this every week. I refer to these times as “Fridays with Dan.” We’ve talked about radio ads, dynamic pricing, subscribers, peak tickets sales, etc. What will we talk about this week? I’m not sure yet. I usually come across something that I’m curious about, but if not, Dan brings up things to talk about as well.

I also love that I am asked for my opinion. What do you think of this ad? Do you think this picture works? Did you spot anything else in the script that we could use? As an intern, I pretty much expected to just do work, but I like that my opinion is asked for. I mean, that probably happens all the time, but I just wasn’t expecting it. Like I said before, I feel spoiled.

As I’ve mentioned, I have found a weakness. Well, not really found, it’s kind of always been there, especially when it comes doing school work over the years. This is my first full time job. The whole 9-5 schedule, lunch break, and sitting at a desk all day is something I’ve had to get used to. I come in in the morning, energized, sometimes with caffeine stimulants and sometimes not, and start doing work. Well first, I check my e-mail, read a couple of Yahoo! News articles to give Dan some time to check his e-mail and lay out what he wants me to do that day. Then I get to work. I’m a pretty good worker all morning. I’m focused and I’m ready! Then lunch time comes. I love food time. I get a break from the work I’ve been doing all morning. Then my least favorite part of the day hits: afternoon. Some people may find this as a glass half full. Hooray, half my day is over, and in just a few short hours, I’ll be on my couch with a beverage of my choice. Not me. Nope. This is the part of the day that drains me. I don’t know why, maybe it’s the lunch I had, but I have the hardest time trying to focus in the afternoon. Time goes by slowly. I drift off, and then I leave feeling like I did not get as much work done as I should have. When I do get work done, I always feel like it couldn’t be as good as if I did it in the morning. I second guess everything I put in a sentence. I’m not sure how to fix this problem. This problem is why I am terrible at studying. I hit an “abort thinking” button after a certain amount of hours. I haven’t had a problem yet this week though. Then again, it is only Tuesday morning, but I remain optimistic. Maybe practice makes perfect.

As far of strengths go, nothing is as clear as my weakness. Let me read that book, and make a list and I’ll get back to you.

I believe I have updated what I feel I should update from the past month. If I forgot to mention anything, I’ll be sure to bring it up. Now I will update at the end of every week. What’s exciting, what’s not. Am I focusing that afternoon or am I writing this blog just to procrastinate? We shall see.

Visit Merrimack Repertory Theatre Online

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

