Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


It’s An Intern’s Life
August 5, 2011, 10:21 am
Filed under: Merrimack Repertory Theatre | Tags:

The Week of August 1st: The End

Today is my last day at MRT. It really doesn’t feel like it. I don’t want to leave. I really like it here. Earlier this week I spent the majority of the time helping the Box Office again, but as the week wore on, I was starting to get really worried that I wasn’t going to able to complete the projects Dan is having me do. I still haven’t finished the public school list and I am waiting to hear back/call some more libraries to put together one master library mailing list for Dan. So I decided to divide my time between the administrative office and the box office. I was afraid that two mornings wasn’t enough time to get everything done, but low and behold, besides waiting on those few calls back from libraries, I finished, a lot faster than I thought too. And even back at the Box Office, I did work, and then had a lot of time to spare. I’m just at the awkward part where I’ve finished everything a little too soon but it’s too late to start a new project.

But I just want to talk about how much I loved this internship. I loved that I did more than just filing. I loved how I was asked for my opinion. I loved having to do phone conferences. I loved doing research. I loved that if I was asked to go out for coffee, it was with everyone who wanted coffee. I loved hanging out at the Box Office. I loved how I didn’t press the copy button on the copy machine once. I was always geeked about going to marketing meetings. Everyone else grumbled about those meetings, but secretly, they were fun. The longer those meetings were the better. My loves outweighed my dislikes by a lot. I didn’t like staring at some spreadsheets for hours at a time, but hey, it’s part of the job. I didn’t like…that public school project. And honestly, it’s really hard to come up with the parts of the job I didn’t like.

I seriously recommend anyone who is looking for an internship to check out MRT. This place is really fantastic. Everyone here is so nice and they take of you. I’m going to miss MRT and everyone here. Thank you guys so much for all your help, for taking the time to teach me (especially Dan), and putting up with me. And thank you for reading. Come out and see Merrimack Repertory Theatre’s 2011-2012 Season.

Visit Merrimack Theatre Online

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

