Merrimack Repertory Theatre Blog


BACKSTAGE INTERVIEW – ALEX FOSEID


BACKSTAGE INTERVIEW – ALEX FOSEID


Next up in our Backstage Interview series is Alex Foseid, one of two new company management interns for the 2011-2012 season.


Where do you grow up, and when did you decide you wanted to work in the theatre?


I grew up in Cross Plains, Wisconsin. My mom introduced me to theater at a young age by taking me to see plays and getting involved in Drama Club in High School. I continued with theater in college at University of Wisconsin-Green Bay studying Technical Theater & Design with a focus on Stage Management. During my summers home I would volunteer usher at the American Player’s Theatre in Spring Green, WI.


How are you settling into your new home at Merrimack Rep?


Settling here was very easy. The facilities and Lowell area are beautiful and everyone I work with is very open and social. I like it here.


What show are you most excited to work on this season and why?


I’m excited to work with the Reduced Shakespeare Company on The Ultimate Christmas Show (abridged). I’ve heard that the company is really fun to work at and Christmas is my second favorite holiday (Halloween is the first!)


What are your responsibilities at the theatre?


I am one of two Company Management and Stage Management Interns. Right now in Company Management, I arrange housing and travel arrangements for visiting artists, pick-ups and drop-offs to and from the train station or airport, distribute contracts, and learning more about what is involved in developing a full season. It’s a good experience to see the administration side of theater.


What are your plans for the future?


I’m taking things one project at a time and jump at whatever opportunities I find along the way. Someday though, I would love to return to Edinburgh, Scotland and work with the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.


Visit Merrimack Repertory Theatre Online

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

